TML Logo new
For Immediate Release                                                            Contact: Carole Graves
June 23, 2011                                                                                      615-255-6416

Troy Beets elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board of Directors

NASHVILLE Troy Beets, Kingston mayor, was elected to the board of directors of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) during the Leagues annual conference recently held in Murfreesboro. Kay Senter, Mayor Pro Tem of Morristown was elected President.
Beets was nominated as a director at large by a six-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. He was then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the entire membership.
Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, TML is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee's municipal citizens, the organization advocates for needed legislative action by the General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and -- working through the National League of Cities in Washington -- seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.
As a member of the TML board of directors, Beets will propose and help determine legislation municipalities need passed into law and will establish policy priorities for the League.
Other board elections include three vice presidents: Portland Mayor Ken Wilber, Humboldt Mayor Allen Barker, and Cleveland Councilmember David May. TML vice presidents are traditionally in line to serve as president.
The TML board also includes past TML presidents, mayors of Tennessee's largest cities, eight district directors, and eight at-large directors. The chairmen of the TML Risk Management Pool -- providing affordable, dependable liability coverage to municipalities, and the Tennessee Municipal Bond Fund --


TML Board of Directors
June 23, 2011
Page 2
offering low-interest loans for capital improvements -- also sit on the board.
The eight district directors, representing their section of the state, were nominated and
elected during district caucuses. They are: District 1: Margaret Feierabend, Bristol mayor; District 2: Bill Hammon, Alcoa assistant city manager; District 3: Bo Perkinson, Athens vice mayor; District 4: Norman Rone, McMinnville mayor; District 5: Kevin Helms, Oak Hill city manager; District 6: Betsy Crossley, Brentwood councilmember; District 7: Vance Coleman, Medina mayor; and District 8: Keith McDonald, Bartlett mayor. 
The eight at-large directors were nominated by an eight-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. They were then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the entire membership. Those directors are: Ben Atchley, Sevierville mayor, J.H. Graham, III., Clarksville mayor; David Gordon, Covington mayor; Curtis Hayes, Livingston mayor; John Holden, Dyersburg mayor; Dot LaMarche, Farragut vice mayor; Ron Washington, Murfreesboro councilmember; and Troy Beets, Kingston mayor.